God’s Catapult

soldier-catapult-336727

Did you ever have the experience of just going through life, and then all of a sudden, “Wham!” you get sideswiped?  That’s where I found myself, and the truth of the matter is, when you get like that, you can sink down into that never-ending pit in a hurry!  I felt like I could hear God for everyone but myself.  When I would pray for others in church, God would show me things and tell me things that would really help the person out.  What I would share would bring comfort, understanding, and peace.

However, for me?  Nothing.  I hadn’t heard from God in months, and I was desperate to hear from Him!
After all, I get “One Liners”, right?   I felt like I was stuck between Malachi and Matthew, waiting for something—anything!  To top it off, every time I opened up facebook or looked at my emails, it was more links to doom and gloom.  Lying, cheating, accusations, insanity, shootings, hatred, and downright stupidity.  I found myself crying out to God for His Kingdom to come, and I thought, “When is enough, enough?”

I knew that all the questioning was to no avail.  God’s got everything under control, He loves me, and He didn’t go anywhere, but still I cried.  Then, the other day, as my husband and I returned from a trip toAustin, I heard, “Psalm 43”.  It’s a short one, so I’ll share it with you.  I like the The Message translation.  Just remember these words when you turn on the news, get those “links”, or just don’t seem to have any direction.  Hope they catapult you like they catapulted me!

Psalm 43 The Message (MSG)

43 1-2 Clear my name, God; stick up for me
against these loveless, immoral people.
Get me out of here, away
from these lying degenerates.
I counted on you, God.
Why did you walk out on me?
Why am I pacing the floor, wringing my hands
over these outrageous people?

3-4 Give me your lantern and compass,
give me a map,
So I can find my way to the sacred mountain,
to the place of your presence,
To enter the place of worship,
meet my exuberant God,
Sing my thanks with a harp,
magnificent God, my God.

Why are you down in the dumps, dear soul?
Why are you crying the blues?
Fix my eyes on God—
soon I’ll be praising again.
He puts a smile on my face.
He’s my God.

He’s always there, and He’s always got your back!soldier-catapult-336727

Leave a Reply

