The Speak-Up Club

 

Kids Talking

My mother, even though she only finished school through the 8th grade, has to be the wisest person I’ve ever known.  Somehow she always came up with the most creative ideas to teach and to correct problems. when I was young, probably no more than 9 years old, she would have me call various stores to find out about availability of products, conditions, of sales, or any other information that she just needed to have and didn’t have the time to do it herself.  I remember just sweating, thinking about it.  Then I would write out my script so that I knew what to say and avoid being tongue-tied.

When we did this task for her, we became members of the Speak-Up Club.  She always told us that it was important to express what was on our minds, to look people in the eye, and to speak up if we had something to say or ask.  She continued this tradition with my children, and I have continued it with my grandchildren.

When my older daughter was about 8, she had this really bad cough.  We prayed for God to heal her, others prayed, medicine was given, but still the cough lingered on.  This lasted for about 6 weeks.  Finally, one day in exasperation I said to her, “I want you to go to your room and ask God what the problem is.”  So, off she went and in less than 3 minutes, I see her in the living room again.  So I asked her why she hadn’t done as I had told her.  She then proceeded to inform me that she did.

“Well,” I asked, “what did God tell you?”  This was her reply.

“He said that I needed to ask for myself!”

I was floored, and to my amazement, the coughing stopped then and there! Was God requiring this of her at such an early age?  And then I realized that perhaps He has His own Speak-Up Club perfectly designed to allow children, by speaking personally to Him, learn what a wonderful friend He is!

Leave a Reply

